Through the Fog
The Enchanted Forest
Located in Elicott City, MD
Photo © 2005 Tom Kirsch, opacity.us
The Enchanted Forest History
This theme park in Ellicott City, Maryland was built in 1954, and opened to the public in August 1955. The idea behind this park was that there were no mechanical rides, and that children would enjoy seeing and interacting with the characters instead. It was bought from the Harrison family in 1988 for $4.5 million by Jeffery Pechter, and then it was then bought again by another company who developed the nearby strip mall in 1992. In 1994 it reopened for a few years, but closed again in 1996 permanently despite a promise to keep the park open.
Pieces of the park are being transported and restored at Clark's Elioak Farm, where they hope to restore as much of The Enchanted Forest as possible to it's former self. Visit enchantedforestmd.org and websitesamerica.com for preservation information and more history about this unique location.